POSITIONALITY STATEMENT

I am a white, gender-queer, polyamorous person with invisible physical and mental conditions. I was born and raised in a deeply southern part of the United States firmly within the "Bible Belt." I grew up in an LGBTQ+-supportive household that was financially stable for most of my childhood. Both of my parents were highly intelligent and motivated small business owners; however, I am a first generation college student. My educational experiences were overwhelmingly negative until college - I was bullied and ostracized in junior high and high school by other students because of my sexuality and gender identity.


The perspectives I gained as part of my life history are the lens through which I view research. As a queer person with invisible illnesses, I navigate health science spaces as both patient and educator; this situationality led to my dissertation examining the intersections of science and social beliefs in the classroom. Because issues of diversity and inclusion are rarely simple or linear, I acknowledge the intersectionality of my position is not reflect of others' experiences. In recognition of my ethnic privileges, I commit to utilize my privilege to promote and support the endeavors of immigrants and people of color.

I hope that, by openly sharing and acknowledging my positionality, I take steps toward creating an open and inclusive environment for students to develop a science identity.

To learn more about positionality and research: